FNGLA Certified Landscape Designer


What is FCLD?

FNGLA's Certified Landscape Designer (FCLD) program offers a professional designation for practicing Landscape Designers and provides consumers a way to choose qualified design professionals.


FNGLA's FCLD program is designed for landscape design professionals in landscape design firms or private business as well as landscape designers in government agencies.

Those qualified to sit for the FCLD exam must have a minimum of two years' professional landscape design experience. FNGLA's Certified Horticulture Professional (FCHP) exam is a pre-requisite for anyone wishing to earn the FCLD designation. Following completion of the FCLD written exams, the applicant must submit a completed landscape plan with photos and letters of reference to complete the exam process.


FNGLA's landscape certifications are designed to measure an individual's skills and knowledge and therefore draw from the professional's experience.


FCLD manualThe following manual is suggested for the written exam for FNGLA's Certified Landscape Designer (FCLD) exam: "Residential Landscape Architecture" 5th or 6th Edition by Booth & Hiss. This textbook is provides guidance on design principle, design application and sustainable landscape design and is utilized when taking the FCLD written exams.

To order Residential Landscape Architecture:

Order the Manual Online


Download the Order Form


Before applying for the FCLD exam applicants must first earn the FNGLA Certified Horticulture Professional (FCHP). The FCLD written exam is available online and can be taken upon successful completion of the FCHP written exam. The final element of the FCLD exam process is a plan submittal that will be reviewed by the FNGLA Certified Landscape Design Judging Committee.

Register for FNGLA's FCLD Exam

FCLD Exam Application Form

FCLD Plan Submittal Guidelines

About the Exams

Exam Sections
FNGLA Certified Landscape Designer (FCLD) is the highest level of certification available to Florida's landscape design professionals. In order to sit for the written exam to complete the FCLD certification, applicants must have first successfully earned the FCHP designation.

Exams will cover principles of Plant Identification, Selection, Placement, and Protection, Sustainable Practices, Design, Business Management, Project Management and Codes & Laws.

Once the FCLD written exams have been completed, the applicant will submit a plan, either CAD or hand-rendered, to be reviewed.

Exam Fees
The 2017-18 exam fee for the FCLD written exam and plan submittal is $200 for FNGLA members and $350 for non-members. This fee does not cover the FCHP written exam, which is a pre-requisite for the FCLD exam. The exam fee is good for one exam attempt only. Any exam section that is not completed successfully may be retaken, once the applicant applies for a retest and pays a retest fee. The cost per section for a retest is $25 for FNGLA members and $40 for non-members.
Manuals and training sessions require an additional fee.

For complete information on FNGLA's certification exam fees, see
Exam Structures & Fees


FNGLA's FCLD certification is valid for a three-year period. During that time, FCLDs are required to earn 30 Continuing Education Units (CEUs) in order to renew.

If you hold more than one certification, these CEUs will apply to all certifications you hold. In the absence of the required number of CEUs, the certified professional will be required to retake the exam.
Renewal is $60 for FNGLA members and $90 for non-members for the three-year certification period.